Summery Melon Salad

I have a passion for food. I’m a real Foodie Lover. I love to talk about food, to cook & bake and to eat it too! I not only eat to live, but I live to eat. And since I love talking and spreading ideas about this passion, I will publish some of my favorite recipes here.
A few weeks ago I was meeting up with  a friend. We were supposed to have lunch at her place, but the supermarket was closed and she didn’t have a lot of variety of food choices to offer. Since I was in the mood to experiment a bit I took a look at my fridge and had put together a salad made out of these ingredients I just happened to have! It was delicious, and I’d love to share it with you:
  • 1/2 galia melon
  • 75 gr mache
  • 1/2 red pepper
  • 8 sun dried tomatoes
  • 50 gr creamy goat cheese
  • 25 gr pecan nuts
  • Pinch of salt
  • 25 gr sugar
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
  • 1/2 lime
Start with the dressing: mix the honey, mustard and the juice of fresh lime together. Throw away the seeds and scoop out the melon. Then, put the mache in a bowl. Add the melon, the chopped up pepper, the sliced up sun dried tomatoes and the crumbled goat cheese. Meanwhile, roast the pecan nuts. When they’re nicely brown and roasted, add the sugar, a pinch of salt and when they’re caramelised toss them over the salad. Complete the salad with the dressing. Here’s to getting in touch with the summer vibes!
4 thoughts on “Summery Melon Salad

  1. *Like! Krijg er gewoon weer honger van, maar what’s new! Misschien een 2e carriere? Succes met studeren en scoren morgen.

    • Earning money by baking/cooking and filling up people’s tummies? That doesn’t sound that bad too me! Ik begin de volgende keer als ik wat voor mijn collega’s maak ermee 😉

Geef een reactie

